Video

Back From Injury

4 Dec

I finally stepped foot on ice today for the first time in 7 1/2 months. After a VERY long rehab (which is still ongoing) I decided it was time to try and skate even though I said I wouldn’t. I was terrified, excited and well…again, terrified.

I was going to write a really long blog post about my injury and recovery  but decided I would just make a little video of the last 7 months. Short and sweet.

Thanks to C. for taking the pics and video on the ice today. Hopefully there will be more to come in the future as I am able to skate more.

You’ll see that I’m pretty wobbly in the end videos but I have this huge smile on my face. Some things never change.

 

 

Happy Skating and Happy Holidays!

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Back From Injury”

  1. Gordon December 4, 2015 at 7:35 am #

    Welcome back!!

  2. Joskates December 4, 2015 at 4:17 pm #

    Hooray! The video was very inspiring and it’s great that you’re back on the ice. Wishing you a smooth rehab and an injury-free skating future!

    • dream2skate December 11, 2015 at 2:20 am #

      Thanks! Yes, an injury free future is exactly what I’m hoping for on the ice! Taking it nice and slow.

  3. Eva @ Eva Bakes December 5, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

    Welcome back to the ice! Hope your recovery is going well – your spirals looked beautiful!

  4. George A. December 11, 2015 at 2:02 am #

    Glad to see that you’re back on the ice. Back in July I fell, broke an arm and whacked my head. Had to have a craniotomy to evacuate a subdural hematoma. But I’m back! http://agingskater.blogspot.com/2015/10/back-on-ice.html

    • dream2skate December 11, 2015 at 2:18 am #

      Oh my goodness! I’m glad you’re back on the ice! That takes some courage! Just read your post… The part where you fell out the spin and it seemed like everyone was relieved when you got up unharmed, I know that feeling. I’ve also skated at your rink before! Since you aren’t that far from me I’ll have to make a special trip down there to skate with a fellow injury prone skate survivor and swap stories! Keep skating!

      • George A. December 11, 2015 at 1:34 pm #

        Yes, we could keep an eye on each other so we don’t “over do”! Currently I’m not skating as much as before the fall, since while recovering, I blew through all my sick leave and a good chunk of annual leave as well. But I generally skate Bowie’s late Friday afternoon (3:30- 5:30 pm) public and the 2-4 pm public on Sundays. In the new year I hope to resume ice dance lessons with my coach and that will probably take place during one of the Tuesday evening Free Style sessions. Look for an old guy wearing either a nerdy looking skateboard helmet or maybe by then, an ice halo (I’m leaning toward the pink fur version). Bowie’s monthly schedules can be seen here: http://www.cityofbowie.org/?nid=105

Leave a Reply

